top of page
  • Anonymous

Dear Boys,

Updated: Aug 28, 2023

Everyone wants to be a pretty girl

Until they see what being one really means

You value me for something that is only seen

I’m perfect for you

I’m perfect for him

It’s easy to smile and let you talk

but you don’t really like ME do you?

You like the mask I wear that hides the girl I wish you could see


I have to be overly nice because I can not be pretty AND mean

No, that would be unfair to…

who?

You?

Her?

It’s not my fault I look this way,

but it is!

You say

you stare at my body like a starved man

Oh how I wish I ran and ran

it’s not

my fault


I have to apologize for the way I upset you

Did I upset you or did you do it yourself?

You can not control the way I look and neither can I


They forget that don’t they? It’s not my fault it’s not my fault it’s not my fault


I promise you I can go out without pigment covering my skin

without my stomach or shoulders showing

and still be given attention


Validation is all I can see

My looks are why you talk to me

But I want you to ask me about how I feel

The rest of it isn’t real


Being me is not as pretty as it seems.

 

Author's Note:

Poetry has always been a way that allows me to express my feelings. Girls so often feel used for a part of themselves that is superficial, whether it is for their body or their looks. Writing is a way that I can take power back for myself. I would prefer to stay anonymous because I have never publicly shared my poetry before. However, I also believe that the emotions I express in my poetry are not unique to me, and many people are able to relate to it.

42 views

Recent Posts

See All

The Beautiful Cliche of a Dress

by Dessin Gabby (she/her) Senior, Springbrook High School I love dresses, I love the long flowy ones, The big puffy ones, The sparkly...

The Growing Fawn

As a demure fawn rises from the ground, A silent whistle, detected yet not acknowledged In the alleyway of the night She calls for help...

The Rising Tempest

by Chloe Chang (she/her) Freshman, Poolesville High School A power bright and true, a tempest strong, It draws its strength from every...

ความคิดเห็น


ปิดการแสดงความคิดเห็น
bottom of page